A hike amongst wild Cretan herbs

Half a day in the company of Giorgos, a passionate botanist, who will reveal the flora of Crete, its heritage, its specific traits and different culinary or medicinal uses. This is the opportunity to go on a superb hike within nature and in the Kritsa gorge, in particular.

Length of the programme: 1/2 day, from 8:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Participation fee: 20€ per person

The price includes:

  • Transport from and to the hotel
  • Guide-interpreter
  • Museum entry fee

How to book: In advance when you book your apartment or on the day, depending on availability.

Important note: This programme is for people who are in good shape to walk for 3 hours and are wearing good walking shoes.

Programme description

We will be taking you to Kritsa to meet Giorgo, our botanist: a walking encyclopaedia on the flora and fauna of Crete. He will take us along cliff paths or, weather permitting, through the narrow, impressive corridors of the gorge to discover the wild plants. These are used for their aromatic or therapeutic properties in cooking, medicine or cosmetics.

Wearing a sturdy pair of shoes, we’ll follow Giorgos into the gorge. He is a bottomless pit of knowledge: each step he takes, he will point out a plant or a flower, and tell us the story behind it, its properties and sometimes, even the dangers. We will delve further into the gorge via small steps he and his friends have made to make it easier to get through. As the gorge walls close in, we clamber more and more frequently between the rocks and Giorgos continues to show us yet more plants, clinging this time to the rocky walls. We will also discover holes in the rocks, which serve as a shelter or a nest for the different species of birds: owls, eagles, etc. Our hike continues, pausing only for short breaks out of the sun to freshen up a little.

After a good two to three hours of walking, we return to the village of Kritsa, where Giorgos has created a museum of endemic, Cretan flora in an old, traditional, village house. The building is very beautiful and stands on different levels with an outside terrace. You will also discover a tiny room, formerly used as a living room, which Giorgos has kept and restored to its former glory, with a fireplace and all the objects and decor of the period.

Before our tour of the museum, we will all meet on the shady terrace overlooking the valley to taste some mountain tea and admire the scenery.

The museum tour can begin! First, we will go to a small room equipped to show a video, in which Giorgos explains the large families and varieties of endemic, Cretan plants, followed by a tour inside the museum at your leisure.

It’s time to leave and after a few steps around the village, we get on the bus for our return journey.

Randonnée botanique

Une demi-journée en compagnie de Giorgos, botaniste passionné qui nous fait découvrir la flore crétoise, son histoire, ses spécificités et ses différentes utilisations, qu’elles soient culinaires ou médicinales. L’occasion de faire une superbe randonnée dans la nature et notamment dans la gorge de Kritsa.

Durée du programme : 1/2 journée, de 8h30 à 14h

Forfait de participation : 20€ par personne

Le prix comprend :

  • Transport aller-retour depuis l’hôtel
  • Guide-traducteur
  • Entrée du musée

Formule de réservation; à l’avance en réservant votre appartement ou sur place si disponibilité.

Note importante : ce programme s’adresse à des personnes en bonne condition physique, capables de marcher 3 heures et équipées de bonnes chaussures de marche.

Carnet de visite

C’est à Kritsa que nous vous emmenons à la rencontre de Giorgos, botaniste ; une encyclopédie vivante de la flore et de la faune crétoise. Avec lui, nous empruntons des chemins escarpés ou si la période le permet les couloirs étroits et impressionnants de la gorge pour découvrir les plantes sauvages. Elles sont utilisées pour leurs vertus aromatiques ou thérapeutiques, en cuisine, en médecine, ou dans la cosmétique.

Equipés de bonnes chaussures, nous suivons Giorgos dans la gorge. Il est intarissable de connaissance : à chaque pas, il pointe du doigt une plante, une fleur et nous raconte toute son histoire, ses vertus, ses dangers parfois. Nous nous enfonçons plus encore dans la gorge en empruntant un petit escalier, réalisé par lui et ses amis confrères pour faciliter le passage. Les parois de la gorge se resserrent, les petites grimpes de plus en plus fréquentes entre les rochers et Giorgos nous montre encore d’autres plantes accrochées cette fois aux parois rocheuses. Nous découvrons également des cavités dans la roche qui servent d’abri ou de nid à différentes variés d’oiseaux ; hibou, aigles, etc… la randonnée se poursuit, entrecoupée de petites pauses à l’abri du soleil pour nous rafraîchir un peu.

Après deux à trois bonnes heures de marche, nous retournons vers le village de Kritsa où Giorgos a créé un musée de la flore endémique crétoise dans une ancienne maison traditionnelle du village. La bâtisse est très belle avec ses différents niveaux et sa terrasse extérieure. On y découvre également une petite pièce que Giorgos a conservée et restaurée telle qu’elle était autrefois et qui devait servir de pièce de vie avec sa cheminée et tous les objets et décoration de l’époque.

Avant la visite nous nous retrouvons tous sur la terrasse ombragée du musée qui surplombe la vallée pour déguster un thé des montagnes et admirer le paysage.

La visite du musée peut commencer ! En premier lieu nous nous rendons dans une petite salle aménagée pour une projection vidéo où Giorgos nous explique les grandes familles et variétés des plantes endémiques crétoises, puis nous poursuivons notre visite à l’intérieur du musée selon notre gré.

Il est temps de repartir, après quelques pas dans le village, nous reprenons le bus pour rentrer.