Green gold

Since 1865, the Vassilakis family has been producing olive oil respecting the environment in order to ensure a sustainable development for future generations.

Visit the Vassilakis family who will give us the opportunity to discover how unique oil production is in the region of Mirambello, well-known for its top quality throughout the world.

Length of the programme: 1/2 day, from 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Participation fee: 20€ per person

The price includes:

  • Transport from and to the hotel
  • Guide-interpreter
  • Olive oil tasting

How to book: In advance when you book your apartment or on the day, depending on availability.

Programme description

We will meet the Vassilakis family about twelve kilometres from the hotel where they press their olive oil. After a few minutes’ introduction, we will set off together by minibus towards Vigli to discover the family olive grove, the olives from which one of the Vassilakis domain oils is extracted.

A guided walk, during which our host will explain to us the specific variety of olives grown here, the treatment and care the olive trees receive throughout the year to respect the environment and the productionquality, as well as the methods for a fruitful harvest.

As we are in Vigli, after our tour of the olive groves, we will make the most of the opportunity to visit its Byzantine church close by, dedicated to the Virgin Mary. This is a very picturesque site with an impressive view over the entire valley. The church door has an unusual decoration.Built in the shape of a cross, the church contains some very interesting frescos. Behind it stands a Venetian fountain.

It is time to return to the domain to discover the current method and all the stepsfollowed to produce and bottle the olive oil. The very modern equipment on the Vassilakis domain is impressive. Our host explains how important it is for them and which method they use to preserve the natural benefits of the olive oil and its unique aroma.

This makes our mouths water! It’s time to move on to the tasting to understand the main organoleptic properties to look for in an olive oil.

Our tour has come to an end. After a few direct purchases from the producer for those who wish to, we return to the hotel.

L’or vert

Depuis 1865 la famille Vassilakis produit de l’huile d’olive dans le respect de l’environnement et dans une logique de développement durable pour les futures générations.

Une demi-journée durant laquelle nous avons l’opportunité de découvrir avec la famille Vassilakis l’unicité de la production de la région de Mirambello réputée pour sa haute qualité dans le monde entier.

 

Durée du programme : 1/2 journée, de 9h à 14h

Forfait de participation : 20€ par personne

Le prix comprend :

  • Transport aller-retour depuis l’hôtel
  • Guide-traducteur
  • Dégustation d’huile d’olive

Formule de réservation; à l’avance en réservant votre appartement ou sur place si disponibilité.

Carnet de visite

C’est à une douzaine de kilomètres de l’hôtel que nous retrouvons la famille Vassilakis sur leur lieu de production d’huile d’olive. Après quelques minutes de présentation, nous partons tous ensemble en minibus vers Vigli pour découvrir l’oliveraie familiale, dont les olives servent à produire l’une des huiles du domaine Vassilakis.

Une promenade accompagnée où notre hôte nous explique la  variété spécifique des olives ici produites, les traitements et soins apportés tout au long de l’année aux oliviers dans le respect de l’environnement et de la qualité des productions, et les méthodes de récolte.

Puisque nous sommes à Vigli, nous profitons de l’occasion après notre tour dans les oliveraies pour visiter non loin de là, son église Byzantine de la vierge ; un site très pittoresque avec une vue impressionnante sur toute la vallée. La porte de cette église a une décoration inhabituelle, une architecture en forme de croix, et des peintures murales très intéressantes. Derrière l’église se trouve une fontaine Vénitienne.

Il est temps de repartir au domaine pour découvrir la méthode actuelle et toutes les phases de production de l’huile d’olive et son embouteillage. Les installations très modernes du domaine Vassilakis sont impressionnantes. Notre hôte nous explique combien il est important pour eux et par quelle méthode ils s’appliquent à préserver les bénéfices naturels de l’huile d’olive et son arôme unique.

Cela nous met l’huile à la bouche ! Il est temps de passer à la dégustation et de comprendre les principales qualités organoleptiques à rechercher dans une huile d’olive.

Notre visite est terminée. Après quelques achats en direct du producteur pour ceux qui le souhaitent, nous retournons à l’hôtel.