Each year, following the flow of the seasons, various villages set up major events, celebrating Cretan local produce and know-how. The cherry festival, the potato festival, the carob festival, the honey festival, the Graviera (Cretan cheese) festival, the Mizithra (fresh Cretan cheese) festival, the snail festival – and the list goes on and on…

In most cases, these events last 3 days, ending in a grand traditional Crete celebration that never fails to draw in a crowd. Here’s some that you don’t want to miss! This page will be updated to include our latest escapades.

May-July

Sheep shearing

Equally dubbed “the feast of the sheep.”
This is one of the most impressive celebrations, with each farmer inviting friends and family to help out with the shearing. After the shearing, everyone gathers around the table for a celebratory feast. If you are here at this time of year, Yannis the farmer is sure to invite you over.

1-15 July

The Dafnes wine festival

Since 1976 the village of Dafnes has been organising an annual wine festival.

It lasts from ten to fifteen days and is held in the village square.

Guests are invited to a free tasting of Dafnes wine, traditional Cretan plates and mezzes in an ambience made even more festive by the traditional Cretan music and dancing events.

The festival serves as the backdrop of several exhibitions of Cretan folk art, books and tools traditionally used in Cretan agriculture and viniculture.

15-17 July

The Thrapsano potters festival

For 3 whole days, the Thrapsano potters are kings!

For centuries, they have been using ancient techniques dating back to the Minoan era to create large vessels, clay pots that require a different technique from the pottery found in other Cretan villages for smaller objects.

Festive, boisterous nights and traditional Cretan feasts await!

15 August

The potato festival

Soon after August 15, the Cultural Association of Tzermiado (a village in the Lassithi Plateau) holds an annual three-day Potato Festival, that equally promotes other local agricultural products, renowned for their quality and flavour. What better opportunity for some fun time, with traditional music and Cretan dishes and drink tasting keeping all participants happy… A contest for the year’s Biggest Potato is in order!

15-17 August

The Citron Festival

The citron is the quintessential citrus fruit. The fruit’s name stems from its thick and rugged skin that smells of cedar.

The great-grandfather of the lemon, citron is an oval-shaped fruit with characteristically wrinkled skin. Its acid green or yellow pulp holds little juice, but the delightful perfume of its zest more than makes up for that.

Citron zest is seldom used fresh. It is primarily candied and used in the pastry and confectionery industry, as well as decoration. It can also be used to make jam and liqueurs. Citron essence is often used in perfumery.

This festival is held in the province of Rethimnon to support citron producers. Shows, theatre plays, Cretan music, citron-based delicacy tasting… there is no shortage of events, although the highlight is definitely the creation of a citron pie that can be up to 4 meters in diameter, 80 centimetres in height and up to 300 kilos in weight!

28 August

The Shepherd and Cheese Festival in Zoniana

Every year the village of Zoniana hosts this festival to celebrate the production and quality of the region’s dairy products. A wonderful opportunity to take a look at the customary lives and activity of the Psiloritis mountains’ farmers. Visitors get the chance to meet the villagers, listen to music and join in the dancing in this authentic Cretan feast. During the festival, participating cheese-making shepherds will present and cut into a giant kefalotyri that is likely to weight close to a ton.

October-December

Ta rakokazana

The ‘rakokazanoukazanema’ is a grape distilling process that leads to the production of Raki (tsikoudia). In fact, it is the residues of grapes pressed for the production of wine that is distilled.

The rakokazano is a ritual that takes place throughout the island and the entire harvest period, i.e. from October to mid-December. Only people who have been awarded a special licence are allowed to partake. In almost all villages of Crete, distillery cauldrons are set up. If you find yourselves in Crete during that time of year, don’t hesitate to ask villagers when and where the rakokazano will take place, more often than not accompanied by a hearty meal of grilled meat and other Cretan dishes.

Chaque année, au rythme des saisons, de nombreux villages organisent de grandes fêtes pour célébrer les productions locales et le savoir-faire crétois ; fête de la cerise, fête de la pomme de terre, fête du caroube, fête du miel, de la Gravièra (fromage crétois), de la Mizithra (fromage frais crétois), de l’escargot, etc…

Dans la plupart des cas, ces évènements durent 3 jours et se terminent par une grande fête traditionnelle crétoise, attirant beaucoup de monde. En voici quelques-unes à ne pas manquer ! Nous enrichirons cette page au fur et à mesure de nos expériences.

Mai-Jullet

La tonte des moutons

On dit aussi « la fête de la tonte ».

Il s’agit d’une des fêtes les plus impressionnante, au cours de laquelle chaque éleveur invite ses amis et membres de la famille à aider à cette activité. Après le travail, tout le monde se retrouve pour un grand repas de fête. Yannis, notre berger ne manquera pas, si vous êtes là, de vous inviter.

1-15 Juillet

La fête du vin à Daphnès

Depuis 1976, le village de Daphnès organise, chaque année, la fête du vin.

Elle dure entre dix et quinze jours et a lieu sur la place du village.

Vous pourrez déguster gratuitement le vin de Daphnès, des mézés et plats traditionnels crétois dans une ambiance de fête, au rythme des danses et de la musique traditionnelle crétoise.

Dans le cadre de cet évènement ont lieu également des expositions d’art folklorique crétois, de livres, d’outils traditionnellement utilisés dans l’agriculture et la viniculture crétoise.

15-17 Juillet

La fête des potiers de Thrapsano

Durant 3 jours, les potiers de Thrapsano sont à l’honneur !

Depuis des siècles, ils fabriquent selon les mêmes méthodes ancestrales qui remontent à l’époque minoenne les grandes poteries, jarres qui requièrent une technique différente de la poterie que l’on trouve dans d’autres villages de Crète pour de plus petits objets.

De belles soirées de fêtes avec des diners traditionnels crétois vous attendent !

15 Août

La fête de la pomme de terre

L’Association Culturelle de Tzermado (village du plateau de Lassithi) organise chaque année après le 15 août un évènement de trois jours autour de la pomme de terre pour promouvoir également les produits agricoles locaux, reconnus pour leur qualité et leur saveur. C’est bien évidement l’occasion de faire la fête ; musique traditionnelle, dégustations de plats et boissons crétois réjouissent les visiteurs et participants. Un concours de la plus grande pomme de terre est également à l’ordre du jour.

15-17 Août

La fête du Cédrat

Le cédrat, est un agrume. Le nom de ce fruit vient de la particularité de son écorce épaisse et rugueuse qui sent le cèdre.

Ancêtre du citron, le cédrat est un gros fruit ovale et bosselé parfois verruqueux. Sa pulpe acide verte ou jaune est peu juteuse, le parfum de son zeste est très agréable.

Le zeste de cédrat est rarement utilisé frais. Il est surtout confit et utilisé en pâtisserie, en confiserie ou à des fins décoratives. Il est également transformé en confiture et en liqueurs. L’essence de cédrat est employée en parfumerie.

C’est dans la province de Réthymnon qu’a lieu cette fête dans le but de soutenir la production de ce fruit. Spectacles, théâtre, musique crétoise, dégustations de mets à base de cédrat, etc… le clou de cette fête étant la fabrication d’une tarte au cédrat de 4 mètres de diamètre, de 80 centimètres de hauteur et pesant jusqu’à 300 kilos.

28 Août

La fête du berger et du fromage à Zoniana

Au village de Zoniana, chaque année, a lieu cette grande fête qui célèbre la production et la qualité des produits laitiers de la région. Une occasion de comprendre les coutumes associées à la vie et aux activités des agriculteurs dans les montagnes du Psiloritis. Les visiteurs ont la possibilité de rencontrer les villageois, d’écouter de la musique et de danser dans une fête crétoise authentique. Lors de l’événement, les bergers-fromagers présentent et découpent un kefalotyri géant qui pèse environ une tonne.

Octobre-Décembre

Ta rakokazana

Le rakokazanou kazanema est le processus de distillation du raisin pour la production de la Raki (tsikoudia). Il s’agit en fait du résidu du raisin qui a déjà été pressé pour la production de vin.

Le rakokazano est un rituel qui se déroule sur toute l’île dans la période qui suit les vendanges ; d’Octobre à la mi-Décembre. Cette distillation n’est permise que pour ceux qui ont un permis spécial. Dans presque tous les villages de la Crète, il y a des chaudrons de distillation. Si vous êtes en Crète à cette époque, n’hésitez pas à demander aux villageois où et quand à lieu le rakokazano souvent accompagné d’un bon repas de viandes grillées et de plats crétois.